top of page
Search

worst of you

Updated: Mar 2, 2020

I don’t know this person looking back at me in the mirror.

baby, why’d you walk away?

I'm still here in bed with your ghosts.

Or maybe they’re mine.


Purple lips that tasted like wine at 2am.

everynight I’m raising my glass to my funeral

to your favourite songs

a part of me dies with every beat.

I don’t recognise any of what is left.


Closed-casket I’m thinking?


I forgot that every time we got closer it just hurt.

Hearts broke, I just never thought it would be yours.


I am ready to fall in love again.

Don’t you know broken hearts can only cut you open?

Can bleed you out in dark alleys and smear you on pristine whites?


Paper hearts, paper cuts on a paper boat.

Thin walls, loud moans- my personal best.

My happiest dream was you.

baby, why’d you walk away?


I am ready to talk again.

Are you ready to hear me drown?

the scream stories - the petty crimes?

to this darkness I live in?


Why don’t you let me down again?

I’ll always let you win.

Give me you worst.

Just don’t walk away.



46 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Dear Ma

You look the happiest when you dance I definitely got your smile But the grace that you emanate, Well lets just say I got dad’s crassness and two left feet Rosy cheeks, my favourite pair of brown eyes

Best Friends

Friends today, more tomorrow. The drunk afternoon drags on Summer sun burning through my the balcony rails Into late evenings Stumbling like you and I Through the doors and barley past the hall Whiske

Red

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page