top of page
Search

Dear Ma

You look the happiest when you dance

I definitely got your smile

But the grace that you emanate,


Well lets just say I got dad’s crassness and two left feet


Rosy cheeks, my favourite pair of brown eyes

You’re the first person I loved,

You were my first home Ma

You will be my last


Yours was the hand I grabbed first, when I was just learning to curl my palm

Your hug is still my biggest fix

Being away from you for past few years has felt like I left half my heart at home

With you, because I know even though this world will break it into pieces

You’ll hold onto it like life itself


We’ve cried, we’ve fought

Together and amongst ourselves

But it will always be You and I against the world

And of course the other three Heathens at home


I suppose I will never understand what being a mom feels like until I have my own kids, but I can tell you this

You’re a fierce woman, grace becomes you

Twice as beautiful with a spine of iron


I never noticed it before but now I can finally see glimpses of the woman you were before you had me,

The things that used to make you smile, before I made you cry

The songs you used hum, before yelling us awake for school


आप जैसा कोई भी नहीं है माँ



128 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Best Friends

Friends today, more tomorrow. The drunk afternoon drags on Summer sun burning through my the balcony rails Into late evenings Stumbling like you and I Through the doors and barley past the hall Whiske

Red

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page