top of page
Search

the moon in me finds the sky in you

The night was cold, your eyes weren’t.

So different from the ones I’m used to staring into,

So much deeper than my insecurities, my deep rooted fears stemming from past romances.

But you’d rather be in love than not at all, just like

I’d rather be in your arms tonight than not at all.

Heartbreak central- my head, my heart. ruins.

All ruins.


You promise you’ll stay but promises don’t last just like your love won’t.

Like time sands, like a candle that burns out.

Like a firefly that dies at the light of dawn.

The sunrise takes away fears of the darkness,

but what if that is all I know?

What if that is all I am?

Some call it disturbing, guess I’ll call it art.


And what do people do with ruins?

They forget them.


‘What of darkness’ you ask,

well I wear it like skin

It is beautiful like the night sky.

‘Bet you’re prettier’ oh how you lie boy,

My ghosts are prettier

‘They don’t terrify me’ you murmur over the radio

If they don’t, my demons will.


‘I’ll love them to salvation’ you counter

Love me then, they’ll have their salvation.

The darkness will find it’s last hope,

the ghosts will return home.

I will become the girl I was looking so desperately for.

Someone I had lost in the crowd of men who didn’t treat her right,

who only existed in my stories.


Love me a moment, love me a life time.

Love me some more even when I have one last breath left.

‘Let’s start with this night’ you smile in the dark.


The next sunrise took you with it,

I was all alone in my room.

So painful- my heart, my head. happy.



347 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Dear Ma

You look the happiest when you dance I definitely got your smile But the grace that you emanate, Well lets just say I got dad’s crassness and two left feet Rosy cheeks, my favourite pair of brown eyes

Best Friends

Friends today, more tomorrow. The drunk afternoon drags on Summer sun burning through my the balcony rails Into late evenings Stumbling like you and I Through the doors and barley past the hall Whiske

Red

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page